Advisory Panel to reduce violence against women

On 14 May 2015, the Prime Minister, the Hon Tony Abbott MP, and the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, announced the full membership of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Advisory Panel to reduce violence against women and their children.

The Advisory Panel was formed following the Prime Minister’s announcement on 28 January 2015 to elevate the issue of violence against women and their children to a national level at COAG.

Its role is to advise COAG on the issue of domestic and family violence and make recommendations on how governments can best respond to the issue.

The full membership of the Advisory Panel is as follows:
Mr Ken Lay APM (Chair)
Ms Rosie Batty (Deputy Chair)
Ms Heather Nancarrow (Deputy Chair)
Ms Julie Oberin
Ms Tracy Howe
Mr Ed Mosby
Dr Vicki Hovane
Ms Maria Hagias
Commissioner Darren Hine APM
Ms Sue Salthouse
The Hon Bess Price MLA

A link to the joint media release is available on the Prime Minister’s website.